Saundersfoot will welcome rowers from across Europe on Saturday 7th May 2022 as the Welsh Rowing Beach Sprints Championships takes place at the home of the forthcoming World Rowing Coastal Championships and Beach Sprint Finals. Building on the success of last year's event, and the increased interest in beach sprints due to a home World Championships, the quality of competitors continues to rise.

Helen Glover MBE, double Olympic Champion, and Charles Cousins, London 2012 Olympian, will prove stern competition in this developing discipline, against the likes of Annalisa Cozzarini, 5-time World Championships participant and Gregor Maxwell, double medallist from the 2018 Commonwealth Regatta. Welsh interest comes from a large contingent from Fishguard and Goodwick Jemima Rowing Club, Llanion Warriors, Wisemans Bridge, Cardiff University and Mumbles ARC.  

Competitors are seeking to put themselves in a good position for GB team selection for the October World Championships in Saundersfoot, as well as selection for Home Nations teams for the inaugural Home International Rowing- Beach Sprints event in St. Andrews in August. Spectators are more than welcome to join us on the beach for an action-packed day. Time trials will take place between 9.30 and midday, with a break for tide change, before quarter-final action restarts at 3pm with finals at 5pm. 


Time trial Time Lane 1 Lane 2
1 9.30 Heledd Williams Helen Glover
2 9.37 Sarah Lewis Laura Rees
3 9.44 Gemma King Kath Coleman-Jones
4 9.51 Anna Raymond Grace Bake
5 9.58 Clemence Lucas-Roast Grace Kinnell
6 10.05 Alison Morris Bryony Jones
7 10.12 Tyenne Morgan Clare Jamison
8 10.19 Eve Wright Devon De Winnaar
9 10.26 Martha Owen Eva Barrellon Kendall
10 10.33 Lottie Cross   Andrew Nelmes
Time trial Time Lane 1 Lane 2
11 10.40 Alexander Astbury Matt Reeder
12 10.47 Che Owen Charles Cousins
13 10.54 Bo Hughes Kraig Murley
14 11.01 Gregor Maxwell Till Andreesen
15 11.08 Jake Thompson Des Nevitt
16 11.15 Hal Flowerdew Harry Smallman
17 11.22 Phil McCorry Angus Gould 
18 11.29 Joshua Port Santino Courtney
Time trial   Lane 1 Lane 2
19 11.36 Cousins/Glover Smallman/Bake
20 11:43 Morgan/Parker Panteca/Cozzarini
21 11:50 De Winnaar/Astbury Maxwell/Jamison
22 11.57 Coleman/Nevitt